The name Pendennis is unique for this part of the world, as it’s the only English farm name you will find in the area. The reason for this being that the title deed was granted during the British governance of the Cape in 1855. It is a reference to Pendennis Castle in Cornwall
a fort from the 16th century to defend the coast.

 

The first owner of Pendennis Farm was J. D. Visser, and the original farm house still stands there today. It took him 20 years to build this Cape Dutch homestead, one of the few authentic examples of this historic style in the area.

 

The master builder responsible for the gable is unknown, but presumed famous as one of the houses he designed was chosen to be painted by world renowned artist J. H. Pierneef, and was later used on a South African Post office stamp.
 

This vision of tranquillity and sustainability, in the form of conscious farming was set in motion by Paul M. Schumacher nearly 4 decades ago.

Today this legacy proudly continues with his son Maximilian P. Schumacher, who has expanded the farm’s original size and modernized the whole agricultural approach by diversifying.

Pendennis Farm History

History of the Pendennis farm.jpg
History of the Pendennis farm.

History of the Pendennis farm

press to zoom
Pendennis Farm in Villiersdorp.jpg
Pendennis Farm in Villiersdorp

Pendennis Farm in Villiersdorp

press to zoom
Plans.jpg
Plans of the Pendennis Farm

Plans of the Pendennis Farm

press to zoom
History of the Pendennis farm.jpg
History of the Pendennis farm.

History of the Pendennis farm

press to zoom